park run and masters XC 4th feb

*** still need many more people for both please*** 4th February – Heaton harriers are doing a park run takeover at Rising sun, and then in the afternoon (12pm) we have NE masters XC also at Rising sun. Volunteers needed for both. some helpers to set up the XC are needed in the morning. Please see roles on doodlepoll PR denotes parkrun, XC cross country (i know its obvious but just Continue Reading →

2017 Heaton Cross Country Championships results

the only thing that can be said about today…….What a brutal course!! Well done everyone. Thanks to marshals , registration and officials, and particular thanks to George Routledge for the course set up and organisation. results Pos Name Cat Time Cat 1 Ian Robinson M 28.01 1st 2 James McKenzie M 30.00 3 Mark Banks M 30.27 4 Tom Oliphant M35 30.42 1st 5 Les Smith M45 30.46 1st 6 Continue Reading →

Heaton Harriers Cross Country Championships – 21 st January

Marshals and course setters wanted Willington Quay & Howdon Boys Club, Rosehill, Wallsend, NE28 7AB. Booked from 12 noon for registration. Junior Races start at 1.00 pm:- (a) Mini Minors & under 11 (1 Km,) (b) Under 13 & Under 15 & Under 17 may be combined depending  on entries (3 Km) Seniors – Men & Women together at 1.15pm (8 Km) All Heaton members welcome free of charge. Parents Continue Reading →

INFORMATION FOR ALL about Harrier league: Herrington THIS Saturday.

Its free and filthy! You have until lunchtime tomorrow (Friday) to register to run. Cast aside memories of podging round a school field in the sleet and replace it with skipping like an antelope over the trimmed verdant grasslands of Nether Sunderland.  Ok that night me pushing it but its fun and theres generally cake for afterwards. Both lads and lasses from all groups are needed, just as long as Continue Reading →

Next club handicap 21st February 2017 and Dec Results

December 2016 Results Heaton Handicap 20th Dec 2016 Pos Surname R1 time handicap actual 1 Sam Topping 26.58 -2.10 29.08 2 Jenny Dover 28.34 3.00 25.34 3 Paul Stutt 28.50 8.30 20.20 4 Margaret Dover 28.58 3.00 25.58 5 Ian McKinnon 29.01 7.30 21.31 6 Alan Langford 29.05 9.40 19.25 7 Ellen Roberts 29.07 8.50 20.17 8 Paul Inskip 29.13 9.10 20.03 9 A Daglish 29.24 5.20 24.04 10 Holly Continue Reading →

Northerns and Nationals…reminder

  Your Captains have issued the rallying cry! Entries are still open till the 8th of Jan for the Northern Cross Country Championships to be held in Liverpool on 28th January 2017. Get to run with the Brownlees…. Also the ENGLISH Cross Country Championships to be held in Nottingham on 25th February 2017. Run in the biggest XC race in the country…The ground shakes when the race gets underway and Continue Reading →

Morpeth road race 2017

Several of us made the trip up the A1 for the Morpeth road race. Ken and Colin McEntee, Les Smith, Nina Cameron and myself were racing,  Mr Les Venmore  was there as race referee.   The course is  point to point , starting on the Mitford road and finishing on the riverside.  It is flat till Mitford before two miles of climb to the high point on the Whalton road. Continue Reading →


The first  monthly mile of 2017  takes place monday  2nd january ,Starting at the junction of rutland road and west street,wallsend. All participants can run an accurately measured mile.The first runner will start at 7.30 so it is advised you get there early to do a proper warm up. This is not a race ,it is basically a personal time trial to give you an indication of your fitness level.