Training Schedule

 

Please remember that the sessions below are weather dependent and that they may change on the night to accommodate for poor running conditions, tentative club sessions for the next couple of months are below (SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

We need volunteers to help leading the sessions on tuesday and thursday evenings. If you are willing to help please get in touch.

 

Training sessions are done in training groups, an explanation about the groups can be found here http://www.heatonharriers.org.uk/training/training-groups/

 

 

Thursday 24th April

Trevor Session – The session will be on ‘ground contact time’  and I will be doing drills followed by jumping, bounding and eccentric exercises using hurdles @Blueflames

Aim

Distance Session based at Blueflames 7:00 start

 

 

Tuesday 29th April

2 x 800m, 4x 400m, 6x 200m recovery is 50% of effort time and is jog recovery

Aim

Distance

Thursday 1st May

3 mile loop with partner @Rising Sun

Aim

Distance 1.2 miles Club to session, 2-4 miles session, 1.2 miles session to club, total 5-7 miles. If going straight to session meet at gates corner of Whitley Road and asda car park 7:20.

Sunday 4th May

Sunderland 10k and half marathon

 

 

Tuesday 6th May

6-8x 800m, recovery is 50% of effort time

Aim:

Distance:

Thursday 8th May

Pace change running stride/cadence (with Trevor)

Aim:

Distance:

 

 

Tuesday 13th May

Paddy freeman 4 or 5 1200m depending upon group, recovery 50% of effort

Aim:

Distance 2 miles club to session, session 3.5 miles, 2 miles session to club, total 7.5 miles. If going straight to session meet at Paddy Freemans next to car park at 7:25.

Thursday 14th May

8 to 10  x 400m full recoveries

Aim

Distance

 

 

Tuesday 20th May

3 mile time trial in race conditions

Aim:

Distance

Thursday 22nd May

10 x 200m 70% rec

Aim:

Distance

 Sunday 25th May

Edinburgh Marathon

 

 

Tuesday 25th May

2 x 800m, 4x 400m, 6x 200m @race pace, recovery is 50% of effort time

Aim

Distance

Thursday 29th May

10 x 100m at faster than 5k race pace

Aim

Distance

 

 

Tuesday 3rd June

8 x 400m Full recovery, HR to >100bpm

Aim

Distance

Thursday 5th June

Speed session (with Trevor)

Aim

Distance

Friday 6th June

Very easy run 3 – 5m

Saturday 7th June

Rest Day

Sunday 8th June

Active rest day – walk, swim, bike 30 mins max

Monday 9th June

Blaydon Race

Tuesday 10th June

Very easy recovery run 3 – 5 miles

 

 

 

New Members

Would you like to train with Heaton Harriers? New members are always welcome. Please see the contact us page for details.