Our junior section is now full so unfortunately we are unable to accept any new applications for junior membership at this time, we will review the situation in 2020. If you are interested in joining the juniors please email newmembers.juniors@heatonharriers.org.uk and reserve a place on the waiting list. As soon as places become available we will contact you.

Heaton Harriers juniors meet at Jesmond Park Academy (previously known as Heaton Manor School) on Wednesdays during school term time from 5.00 – 6.00 p.m.  We cater for athletes from school Year 4 upwards.

Cost: Annual membership is £15, plus £1 per session

The focus of these sessions is on Sportshall Athletics and the development of running, jumping and throwing skills as well as generic movement and coordination. 

We offer the opportunity and encourage our Juniors to represent the club in the North East Harrier League Cross Country, the Heaton Memorial Road Races, internal Heaton Harriers organized races and at other events recommended from time to time.

General Information

Heaton Harriers Junior section was started in June 2008 to provide young people from the age of 8 to 16 with the opportunity to receive coaching and competition in Sportshall Athletics, Track and Field, Road Running and Cross-Country.

UK Athletics qualified coaches who have been screened for their suitability for working with young people, deliver all coaching. The club adheres to the UK Athletics Welfare Policy including Child Protection.

The club runs one training session per week during the school term. Additional sessions, with a specific focus, both indoors and outside at local track and field venues are arranged from time to time

Juniors are encouraged to enter local road races, appropriate Track and Field events and to compete for Heaton in the North East Harrier cross-country league and in internal events.

UKA Qualified Coaches: Trevor Hopkins , Ted Baty , Jason Wall , Aaron Matheson , Paramjeet Bhogal , Lisa Boyd , Steve Garett 

UKA Qualified Assistant Coaches: Paul Stutt , Dave Wright

Assistants : Sue Linsley , Debbie Hicks , Charlotte Bomkin

Child Welfare Officers: Iain McKinnon & Linda Francis